Russia imposes sanctions on President Joe Biden and other senior US officials

Rusia-(Berberanews)-Russian President Joe Biden, Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, and a dozen other top US officials have been placed on a “stop list” that prevents them from entering the country, according to Russian officials.

Defense Secretary Lloyd Austin, CIA Director William Burns, and National Security Adviser Jake Sullivan were among the US officials on the list, in addition to Biden.

The restriction was enforced in reaction to US sanctions against Russian officials following Russia’s invasion of Ukraine. Later on Tuesday, the foreign ministry added Trudeau to the list of sanctioned individuals.

The actions appeared to be mostly symbolic, as the foreign ministry stated that it was maintaining official relations and would ensure that high-level contacts with those on the list were possible if necessary.